BOARD OF SAFETY MEETING

March 18, 2024

The Board of Safety Special Meeting was called to order by Secretary George Kouros in the absence of Chairman Eric Graf at 6:00 p.m., in the Schererville Police Department Meeting and Training Facility, 25 E. Joliet Street, Schererville, IN.

Attendance was taken with the following Board Members present: George Kouros, David Eenigenburg, and David Jaroszewski. Staff members present: Police Chief Peter Sormaz, Deputy Chief of Police Steven McNamara, Fire Chief Robert Patterson, and Recording Secretary Stephanie Bottiger. Also present: Attorney Lauren Ehardt in lieu of Attorney Alfredo Estrada, Schererville Town Manager Jim Gorman, and Town Council liaison Thomas Schmitt. Absent: Chairman Eric Graf and Deputy Fire Chief David Meyer.

THEREUPON, Approval of the Minutes

Mr. Jaroszewski made a motion to approve the minutes of the March 7, 2024 Public Meeting, seconded by Mr. Eenigenburg. Motion carries (3-0).

THEREUPON, Correspondence

ITEM A. PD - NONE

ITEM B. FD - NONE

THEREUPON, Old Business

ITEM A. PD – NONE

ITEM B. FD – NONE

THEREUPON, New Business

ITEM A. PD – 2023 Awards for Sworn and Civilian

Dispatch and Records Supervisor Kelly Wynkoop recognized Dispatcher Jacob Cueller and Dispatcher Amy Petruch as the Schererville Police Department's 2023 Civilians of the Year. Special recognition also went to Dispatcher Leah Shepard for her assistance with the Sherwood Lake Apartment Fire on February 29, 2024.

Patrol Commander Michael Bork recognized Officer Jeffrey Wozniak and Officer Jacob Bermingham as the Schererville Police Department's 2023 Officers of the Year.

Detective Commander Kevin Wagner recognized Detective Hector Mendez and Detective David Nangle as the Schererville Police Department's 2023 Investigators of the year.

ITEM B. PD – Promotion of Officer Timothy Mele to Corporal

Chief Sormaz recommended the Board approve the promotion of Officer Timothy Mele to Corporal, effective March 18, 2024. Motion made by Mr. Jaroszewski, seconded by Mr. Eenigenburg. Motion carries (3-0).

ITEM C. PD – Promotion of Officer Anthony Rubino to Corporal

Chief Sormaz recommended the Board approve the promotion of Officer Anthony Rubino to Corporal, effective March 18, 2024. Motion made by Mr. Jaroszewski, seconded by Mr. Eenigenburg. Motion carries (3-0).

ITEM D. PD – Promotion of Officer Josette Quiroga to Corporal

Chief Sormaz recommended the Board approve the promotion of Officer Josette Quiroga to Corporal, effective March 18, 2024. Motion made by Mr. Jaroszewski, seconded by Mr. Eenigenburg. Motion carries (3-0).

ITEM E. PD – Detective Supervisor Announcement

Detective Commander Wagner advised the Board of the appointment of Corporal Ian Segovia to the position of Detective Supervisor, beginning May, 2024.

PD – Swearing in of Keith Hickok #233 ITEM F.

Officer Keith Hickok, badge #: 233 was sworn in by Administrative Assistant for the Town of Schererville, Janice Malinowski.

THEREUPON. Reports

Police Chief - NONE ITEM A.

ITEM B. Fire Chief - NONE

ITEM C. Attorney – NONE

> THEREUPON, Board Members **NONE**

> THEREUPON, Business from the Floor **NONE**

THEREUPON, Adjournment

There being no further business, Mr. Jaroszewski made a motion to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Mr. Eenigenburg. Motion carries (3-0). The meeting was adjourned at 6:37 p.m.

GEORGE KOUROS **ERIC** GRAFF SCHERERVILLE BOARD OF SCHERERVILLE BOARD OF

SAFETY CHAIRMAN SAFETY **VICE CHAIRMAN** A TRUE COPY A TRUE COPY